Wake Up With…

Tomorrow, I will not wake up with Parkinson’s. I told myself that several days in a row after being diagnosed, and dang it, wouldn’t you know it didn’t work. I started thinking about people who wake up with things they don’t want; a crooked nose, a bald head, an empty house, unemployment, a life changing disease. I know that surely they have told themselves that tomorrow, they will not wake up with ________. Sometimes, life is not very fair when it is the dealer. I didn’t like the cards I was dealt in March.

Too often, we can let what we wake up with define us, shape who we are. However, I don’t believe that is what I am going to do, and neither should you, especially if you woke up with ________. Who we are is about faith, resilience, strength, perseverance, motivation. Who we are is about loving others, serving others, and helping others. These are the things that define us and shape us. Our attitude will be our success. So, waking up with __________ is not who I am. Waking up with Parkinson’s is not who I am.

Tomorrow, I will not wake up with the attitude that my Parkinson’s controls me and defines me and shapes me. I will still have Parkinson’s, but I will wake up stronger in my soul, and I will #justbe for someone who needs me. What will you wake up with?

#justbe #parkinsons #litwithin #move4PD #teamfox

10 thoughts on “Wake Up With…

  1. Life gives a lickin’….but you and the Lord….just keep on kickin’ and tickin’…! Sorry you have to travel this pathway, but you have the best companion throughout all eternity! You are NOT alone! We all fight our battles…but God will bring us through victoriously!!! God be with you and your beautiful bride every step of the way….so will we at FBC!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My jokester buddy love the outlook you have taken in the situation. You are a fighter, believer, achiever and you will get through this. I miss you and take care.
    Eula

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How awesome are you! How inspiring, how life changing, how motivational and how encouraging you are! This proves that through Christ we are more than conquerors!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment